Android: Cannot run program "node": error=2, No such file or directory

The iOS version works fine, but running Android Studio on my Mac I get the following Gradle Build error (paraphrased):

:ReactNative:Running ‘[node, -e, console.log(require(‘react-native/cli’).bin);]’ command failed.

- Where:
Script ‘/Users/…/Desktop/…/node_modules/@react-native-community/cli-platform-android/native_modules.gradle’ line: 154

- What went wrong:
A problem occurred evaluating script.
> Cannot run program “node”: error=2, No such file or directory

Caused by: java.io.IOException: Cannot run program “node”: error=2, No such file or directory

I am very new to coding, and the first time I tried to fix this I broke the iOS version for 4 days. I have already tried (to the best of my abilities):

Following the React Native development set-up: Setting up the development environment · React Native
Following this advice about [renaming?] the node path: java - Android Studio setting node directory for build (Cause: error=2, No such file or directory) - Stack Overflow
Following this advice about symlink: node.js - Jenkins : java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "node": error=2, No such file or directory - Stack Overflow
Ran brew install node. Message: node 14.2.0 is already installed, it’s just not linked. Tried to run brew link --overwrite node, error /usr/local/share/doc/node is not writable.

I am considering uninstalling and reinstalling node, but I am very afraid about destroying things again. Any step-by-step advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you!!

Current mood: Both Donny and Walter

Caveat: I in no way understand why the following works as it does.

The Android app now loads on my emulator, despite the Gradle build error persisting in Android Studio. Here is what happened:

I completely uninstalled node, npm, and yarn, relying heavily on brew and advice online. Note that this step may not be necessary.