Best way to do OCR with Expo

I’m new to both react native and expo, hopefully I understand the concepts I’m talking about correctly, please correct me if I don’t. I’m trying to build a mobile app which performs OCR. However, I’m not quite sure what the best way to perform OCR is. I’ve found this tesseract ocr library but it seems that I need to eject from expo to use that because it relies on native code. I’ve also tried using this pure js library but that depends on util from the Node Standard Library which isn’t supported by Expo. I’ve also found the anyline library (I can’t link it because I’m a new user) but it seems that using Anyline requires payments which I’d like to avoid if possible.

Is the best path forward using the tessaract OCR library and ejecting from expo?

Seems like there’s no expo-native way to peform OCR: Support Optical Character Recognition (OCR) | Voters | Expo

Hey curious if you found a way to do it in expo? I’m trying to OCR an image taken with a camera.

Here’s a proof of concept. Only tested on Android so far:

I just needed EAS Build and a small patch to react-native-tesseract-ocr applied with patch-package.

1 Like

Thanks man I saw this the other day and needed to try it out. Will try this now! I’ve been hesitant to get to native code it seemed tricky, I’m going to dive in!

Oh shoot this is android only. I’m going to try this one and let you know how it goes - GitHub - agoldis/react-native-mlkit-ocr: Google on-device MLKit Text Recognition for React Native

1 Like

@wodin it worked! Oh my gosh it was so easy!!!

• expo init
  • expo install react-native-mlkit-ocr expo-dev-client
  • eas build -p all --profile development
  • When the build completes, go to the build page on expo.io and then tap install, it opens a QR code
  • Scan that QR code with your device, it will download the app to it.
  • Start the downloaded app.
  • expo start --dev-client

Wowww!!