Expo app does not open in ios simulator

I am new to react native and expo and excited to be working on this new project.

I used the CRNA script and got my project up and running on my macbook air. I’ve been able to load my project on the iphone simulator and develop.

I have an iMac I prefer to use when I am home. I pulled the github repo.

Got the project setup and dependencies installed.

When I go to load the app in expo through the iphone simulator, it opens expo and just stays on a screen that says expo on the bottom.

I can’t toggle into the developer menu, my project doesn’t load. I’ve deleted and reinstalled expo, deleted and reinstalled my node modules.

I’m lost at what to do at the moment because I receive no error messages. I’m running on iPhone X 11.4 and the version that works on my macbook air is iPhone X 11.2. Otherwise the projects should be identical.

It’s been frustrating. I can continue working on my macbook air, but my imac is more powerful and I’d prefer to use it.

Thanks for any/all help and direction. Below is a screen shot of the screen I am stuck on.

Hey @hancho,

I pinged about this internally as you already tried the steps I would normally recommend to try and fix this. I’ll circle back when I find out more.

Cheers,

Adam

Thanks @adamjnav ,

Still no luck, so keep me posted.

Best,

Austin

Hey @hancho,

Can you try reseting contents and settings in the simulator?

Cheers,

Adam

1 Like

Hey @adamjnav,

Sorry for the delay, but I finally got back to trying to fix this issue…

I deleted the simulator, and reinstalled it. I also deleted my app directory and repulled everything from git, reinstalled all the dependencies and packages and still no luck.

I can’t toggle the developer settings in expo when it’s open.

I am going to create a new react native app with the create react native script and see if that opens.