How can i solve this error: error: unknown option `--assetPlugins'

So I am completely new to expo and am trying to use it to create react native apps. I just installed it a couple days ago so it should be the newest version and tried creating a very simple app while following a tutorial, and after dealing with a bunch of errors getting expo to install and create a project properly, I am now getting the following error when running yarn start:

error: unknown option `–assetPlugins’

Metro Bundler process exited with code 1

I’ve already searched for other resolutions to this error to no avail, does anyone have any idea what could be going wrong? I’ve tried deleting node modules and deleting the package-lock.json like someone suggested on stackoverflow but nothing works.
See my stackoverflow question here: javascript - Error running React Native app - unknown option - Stack Overflow
Thanks in advance!

Please run expo diagnostics and paste the output into a new comment and use the “Preformatted Text </>” option so that it keeps the formatting.

Then could you please elaborate on the following?

Diagnostics output:

┌──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│                                                                                                                                          │
│   There is a new version of expo-cli available (3.11.2).                                                                                 │
│   You are currently using expo-cli 3.11.0                                                                                                │
│   Install expo-cli globally using the package manager of your choice; for example: `npm install -g expo-cli` to get the latest version   │
│                                                                                                                                          │