Module AppRegistry is not a registered callable module

Hi,
I’ve been building out an application for several months now and everything’s been going fine in the simulators, but I’m just now getting the app up on TestFlight and I’m getting this error on my iPhone:

Unhandled JS Exception: Module AppRegistry is not a registered callable module (calling runApplication)

I’ve been googling this for a while now and I found this github issue that seemed similar:
https://github.com/expo/expo/issues/270

I’ve tried running expo start --no-dev --minify, but everything still seemed to run perfectly.

I took a look at the build logs for my .ipa file and found a few errors:

[stderr] warning: /private/tmp/turtle/6b67a9ea-bbfc-4851-af84-c599abd51cfc/archive.xcarchive/BCSymbolMaps/ExpoKitApp-armv7.bcsymbolmap: 
[stderr] No such file or directory. Not unobfuscating.
[stderr] warning: /private/tmp/turtle/6b67a9ea-bbfc-4851-af84-c599abd51cfc/archive.xcarchive/BCSymbolMaps/ExpoKitApp-arm64.bcsymbolmap: No such file or directory. Not unobfuscating.
[stderr] _floatsignTemp/Payload/ExpoKitApp.app: replacing existing signature
[stderr] _floatsignTemp/Payload/ExpoKitApp.app: signed app bundle with Mach-O universal (armv7 arm64) [com.friendsindeed.app]

I have no idea what those errors mean, so I was hoping someone could shed some light on them. Is this enough information to go off of? Let me know if I should provide anything else. Any insight I could glean from this would be very helpful. Thanks!

Hey @sethcwhiting,

Here’s the info we have on this error: https://docs.expo.io/versions/v33.0.0/workflow/common-development-errors/#module-appregistry-is-not-a-registered-callable

Another thing to try is to add your third-party libraries back one-by-one to see if one of them is the culprit.

Cheers,
Adam

1 Like

Thanks, @adamjnav!

I was able to open the console to view my phone’s logs and found these errors when running the app:

error	14:15:48.349945 -0400	backboardd	<private>