New App Doesn't Load On Hotspot

Hi all,

So today I made a new project using create-react-native-app. I am still a student so my network on school is completely sealed, so when I develop on school I always develop on my own hotspot. I never had issues whatsoever, until now.

Problem:
When creating a new project the project won’t load.

NOTE!: Old projects before SDK 28.0.0 load perfectly fine on the hotspot.

There is one strange occurrence tho. The new project loads perfectly fine on my own home network, but not on my hotspot. Since all old projects actually work on my hotspot, it seems to me that the issue is not within my hotspot.

I hope that someone may be able to help!

Side information (If you need more information, feel free to ask me for it):

Testing device: iPhone 7 / Oneplus two / Huawei P2 Lite
iOS version: 12 (Beta)
Lowest Android version: 5.0.0
Hotspot device: iPhone 7
SDK version that causes problems: 28.0.0

You’re connecting via tunnel or using lan flag?

How do I know that? I just run npm/yarn start. @jakubste

create-react-native-app (CRNA) uses LAN and it’s conceivable for a variety of reasons that your computer isn’t reachable from your phone over the network.

I recommend using expo-cli instead of CRNA. It will be replaced in the documentation soon: https://github.com/react-native-community/discussions-and-proposals/issues/23

To install expo-cli run npm i -g expo-cli and then you can run expo start in the same project directory, or create a new project with expo init ProjectName. With this you can use tunnel connection. It’ll be slower but it will work. I recommend using a simulator if possible or using another network where your phone can reach your computer.

1 Like

I did this and I find it better working for me than CRNA. But I have a small problem.