What happens if we send to old Expo tokens?

We have two options when storing tokens:

  1. Store one for account and always overwrite it
  2. Store multiple for one account in case they want to login with same account on multiple phones

For #2, if they reinstall the device, there is no way for me to know now what is an old token (there is no unique identifiers that persist between installs as far as I know).

I don’t mind having like 50 expo tokens for one user, if 48 of them just won’t work…but what are the practical implications of this? Am I just bombarding expo’s servers and do I get back some kind of error when I verify the delivery so I can remove them?

Is this documented anywhere???

Perhaps would be a good idea to add this answer to the FAQ: