Adjusted Ionicons not showing up

I’m brand new to expo development. I adjusted the default ionicons to icons corresponding to home, info and settings, but only the home icon shows up. The phone I’m using is an android anyway, so that may be part of it, although it wouldn’t explain why the home showed up and the other two didn’t. I’d prefer to use material icons, and I read the guide and found it a bit vague [and am under severe time pressure] . Can anyone shed light on why some icons show up and not others?

Hi @rgallen,

Can you clarify your problem with some code please ?

In the navigationOptions in the MainTabNavigaor.js I replaced the default icons for these ones: (I actually tried a few, but these are current)… the only one that shows is home. Thanks for any help.
tabBarIcon: ({ focused }) => {
const { routeName } = navigation.state;
let iconName;
switch (routeName) {
case ‘Home’:
iconName =
Platform.OS === ‘ios’
? ios-home${focused ? '' : '-outline'}
: ‘md-home’;
break;
case ‘About’:
Platform.OS === ‘ios’
? ios-information-circle${focused ? '' : '-outline'}
: ‘md-information’;
break;
case ‘Settings’:
Platform.OS === ‘ios’ ? ios-settings${focused ? '' : '-outline'} : ‘md-settings’;
}

What component did you use to display your icon ? <Ionicons ... /> or <Material ... />

To display material icons you have to
import MaterialIcon from '@expo/vector-icons/MaterialIcons';

And use it like this
<MaterialIcon name="settings" size={25} color={tintColor} />
Here all material icons Material Design

To display ionicons you have to
import Ionicons from 'react-native-vector-icons/Ionicons';
And use it like this
<Ionicons name="ios-settings" size={25} color={tintColor} />
Here all ionicons Ionicons: Premium Open Source Icon Pack for Ionic Framework

i used the Ionicons (default)

so you can’t use Materials icons

I haven’t tried the material icons yet. the icons i added were listed as ionicons on the expo website