Recently started seeing MASSIVE delays in promise operations

I just started seeing some very nasty side effects in the development my expo app.

Some of my promise operations are taking an exorbitantly long amount of time to resolve (over 1 minute - what normally was sub-second operations).

I have been developing this app for several months, and never experienced this until two days ago (9/12/2017).

• I backed out my most current enhancements (to a previous stable version), but the problem still exists.

• I am seeing this issue on every device I have tested with.

• I upgraded my project to the latest expo, but the problem still exists
    Expo SDK: 20.0.0
    React Native: 0.47 July
    React: 16.0.0-alpha.12

• One aspect of interest is I am using the firebase API, with it’s real-time notifications. This is emitting a well-known warning about a long timers issue (Add support for AlarmManager in Timing to allow proper handling of long timers · Issue #12981 · facebook/react-native · GitHub).

I do not think this is related, but I thought I would mention it. I have been developing a long time with this warning and have never experienced this promise delay.

Any assistance on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Kevin

Hi Kevin! Sorry to hear about this problem. Can you provide some sample code for the operations that are running really slow? Ideally you’d be able to reproduce this behavior on https://snack.expo.io, but I understand if it’s specific to your local environment.

Hi @dikaiosune2m,

Thanks for your quick response.

I haven’t attempted to isolate anything into a small snippet (using snack).

My project is checked into github, so I can reference some code there (FYI: my upgrade to expo 20.0.0 is not yet checked into github, so don’t be alarmed about that).

I am using redux, in conjunction with redux-logic to isolate my business logic. This basically monitors redux actions injecting value-added logic hooks.